editing disabled

Educational Links

Web Searches
Tutorial - Guide to Effective Searching of the Internet by Michael Bergman (Available as PDF) http://www.brightplanet.com/deepcontent/tutorials/search/index.asp
"Googling to the Max" & "Beyong Google" at:
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/Handouts.html
http://www.rcls.org/ksearch.htm - a great Kids Search site!
CyberProofing 101 at http://www.geocities.com/rod_oickle/safeparents.html
Google Search "Cheat Sheet" at: http://www.google.com/help/cheatsheet.html
The Spider's Apprentice (A helpful guide to web search engines) at:
http://www.monash.com/spidap.html

General Teaching Sites
World Book Online at: http://www.worldbookonline.com
Winter Olympics for Kids at: http://www2.lhric.org/pocantico/olympics/winterolympics.htm
Citation Machine at: http://citationmachine.net/
The Really Best List of Classroom Management Resources at:
http://drwilliampmartin.tripod.com/reallybest.htm
theteacherlist.ca
http://www.internet4classrooms.com/k12links.htm - Lots of excellent materials for all levels.
Edutopia - The New World of Learning at: http://www.edutopia.org/
The Cooperative Learning Network at: http://www.lauracandler.com/ PDF
Theme Pages for Elementary Teachers and Students at: http://www.cdli.ca/CITE/themes.html
Information Please Fact Monster at: http://www.factmonster.com/ - Science & Math.
My Teacher Tools at: http://www.myteachertools.com -Huge, lots of resources
Rubrics Resource at: http://www.wsd1.org/central/rubrics.htm - rubrics, lots & lots of rubrics. Even computerized rubrics.
Resources for Teaching Thematic Units at: http://atozteacherstuff.com/Themes/index.shtml
Jerrie's Curriculum Hotlists at: http://webtech.kennesaw.edu/jcheek3/curriculum.htm - a wide variety of interesting themes like Wolves, and Watermelons.
eduScapes: A Site for Life-Long Learners at: http://eduscapes.com/ This site has everything.
Little Explorers - Picture Dictionary at: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Dictionary.html
www.enchantedlearning.com - Just about every topic under the sun
http://www.schoolnet.ca/ - Canada’s Schoolnet
Manitoba Education, Traing and Youth K- S4 (New & Improved Website) at:
http://www3.edu.gov.mb.ca/edulinks/areas.jsp
ProTeacher! - "The Web's Little Secret For Elementary School Teachers" at:
http://www.proteacher.com
Awesome Library at: http://www.awesomelibrary.org/
This K-12 educational directory organizes the web with 17,000 carefully reviewed resources,
including the top 5 percent in education.
Canadian Kids Page at: http://www.canadiankids.net/ck/default.jsp
KidsKonnect.com at: http://www.kidskonnect.com/

ELA
Storytelling in the Classroom at: http://www.storyarts.org/
Teaching That Makes Sense at: http://www.ttms.org/ - writing resources
www.my-moondrops.com It is for Kindergarten – they use dotted letters and numbers for tracing names.


Math
Math Sites at: http://www.kidskonnect.com/MathSites/MathSites.html
Interactive Resources at: http://www.interactiveresources.co.uk/
Primary Games at: http://www.primarygames.co.uk/
http://www.aaamath.com/ - K to 8 math resources.
Month To Month Suggestions for Independent Computer Activities ( K - 8) at:
http://www.internet4classrooms.com/month2month.htm - (Michelle Bouchard - Fort Rouge)
Math Educational JAVA applets at: http://arcytech.org/java/
AAA Math at: http://www.aaamath.com/
An interactive, on-line basic math skills resource site.

Science
Marco Polo - Tsunami & Natural Disaster Resources at:
http://www.marcopolo-education.org/teacher/featured_resources.aspx
"The Canadian Junior Rockhound" at: http://www.canadianrockhound.com/junior/index.html
external image clip_image001.gif Science NetLinks at: http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/
BBC - Human Body at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody
Simple Machines at: http://teacher.scholastic.com/dirtrep/simple/index.htm
http://www.hancockhouse.com/ - Someone has placed a camera near an eagle's nest on Hornby Island. Live shots of the eagles nesting are available. Go to the red part ... "Live streaming"


Social Studies
Weather Photo Gallery at: http://www.weather-photos.net/
There is a great slideshow that can be as part of a weather unit and used the photos as inspiration to produce drawings, etc.
The Underground Railroad at: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/railroad/
Confederation for Kids at: http://www.collectionscanada.ca/confederation/kids/index-e.html
Ancient Egypt Webquest at: http://www.iwebquest.com/egypt/ancientegypt.htm
"The Canadian Junior Rockhound" at: http://www.canadianrockhound.com/junior/index.html
Halifax Explosion at: http://www.cbc.ca/halifaxexplosion
Polar Husky at: http://www.polarhusky.com/portal.html - explore the north, even take your class on a virtual dogsled ride through Alaska. Also looks at Global warming, Caribou herds, etc.
Get 2 Know Canada at: http://www.get2knowcanada.ca/ - excellent coverage of our fine Country. Includes early Canada, landforms, maps, resources, flags, and statistics on each province. Information is very good. Website is ugly.

Astronomy
Star Child: A Learning Center for Young Astronomers at:
http://starchild.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/StarChild/StarChild.html
(Printable resources and web site contents can be read to younger children.)
SpaceWander at: http://www.spacewander.com/index.html - go on a rocket to Mars, Jupiter, and they the depths of space. Actual NASA footage and Hubble photos.

French
http://w3.granddictionnaire.com/btml/fra/R_MotClef/index800_1.asp from the Office quebecois de la langue francaise -translating website that is interactive e.g. doesn't just translate "book", asks you what type of book.

Technology
Technology Resources for Teachers at:
http://www.msad54.k12.me.us/MSAD54Pages/Curriculum%20Resources/
TeacherResources/TechResources.html

Microsoft Skills 2000 - Museum of Modern Technology at: http://www.actden.com/skills2K/ - older but has some good easily understood information on how the operating systems, the web, email, and networks work.

Art and Clipart
Paper Snowflakes for Everyone at http://www.papersnowflakes.com/
North District's Clip Art Resources at: http://www.wsd1.org/north/clip_art.htm
Posters at: http://www.wsd1.org/southd/posters.htm - posters for use in the computer lab. These are publisher files.

Above k – 8
Black History Hot List at: http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/BHM/bh_hotlist.html Best WebQuests at: http://www.bestwebquests.com
www.lepatron.ca - Grammar correcting site
The Physics Classroom at: http://www.physicsclassroom.com/
"NoodleBib" - An on-line MLA bibliographic tool at: http://www.noodletools.com/noodlebib/
Great Ideas for Teaching Marketing at: http://www.swcollege.com/marketing/gitm/gitm.html
Quick! Get the (Digital) Camera! at: http://www.education-world.com/a_tech/tech148.shtml
Newseum - The Interactive Museum of News at: http://www.newseum.org
Shakespeare: Subject to Change at: http://www.ciconline.org/bdp1/
"Going Digital in the Classroom" at: http://www.forsyth.k12.ga.us/sbeck/digital/goingdigital.htm
"The Techno-Savvy, Book-Rich Media Center" an article by Jamie McKenzie
http://fno.org/apr04/technosavvy.html
Thanks to John Berestiansky, Educational Technology Consultant, of the Pembina Trails School Division
for sharing this resource through the SCHLIB e-mail listserv.
Learning Through the Library Best Practices Archive at:
http://www.ala.org/ala/aasl/aaslissues/aaslinfolit/learningthrough.htm

Where did my files go? at:
http://www.arachnoid.com/lutusp/directories.html
AlternaTime - Timelines on the Web at: http://www2.canisius.edu/~emeryg/time.html
Six Paths to China (Six strategies for using the Web for learning) at:
http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/China/
Internet4Classroomsat: http://www.internet4classrooms.com/index.htm

Creative Classroom Online at: http://www.creativeclassroom.com/
Schools of California On-Line Resources for Education (S.C.O.R.E.) at:
http://www.score.k12.ca.us
SCORE Mathematics at: http://score.kings.k12.ca.us/
Best of SCORE Mathematics Lessons at: http://score.kings.k12.ca.us/bestofscore.htm
SCORE Science at: http://scorescience.humboldt.k12.ca.us/
SCORE Science Kids Corner at: http://scorescience.humboldt.k12.ca.us/fast/kids.htm
SCORE History/Social Studies at: http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/
SCORE History/Social Studies - Internet Classrooms at: http://score.rims.k12.ca.us/classact.html
SCORE Language Arts at: http://www.sdcoe.k12.ca.us/SCORE/cla.html
SCORE CyberGuides at: http://www.sdcoe.k12.ca.us/SCORE/cyberguide.html
WebQuests Created by Missouri Teachers at:
http://emints.more.net/resources/webquest/index.html